Official Connacht GAA Website

One Change to Galway Starting 15 for Connacht Final

June 14th, 2018

One Change to Galway Starting 15 for Connacht Final

Galway and Roscommon teams have both now been announced for Sunday’s hotly anticipated Connacht Final in Hyde Park. It will be the third year in a row that the two rivals will meet in the Provincial decider, with the Rossies running out 2-15 to 0-12 winners last year in Pearse Stadium and Galway winning in 2016 in the Hyde after a replay, 3-16 to 0-14.

Kevin McStay named his team on Sunday evening, with the same 15 that lined out in their win over Leitrim in the semi final again entrusted to start on Sunday. Conor Devaney from Kilbride is the team captain.

Kevin Walsh makes one change to his starting team from the 15 that lined out against Sligo in the Semi Final, key midfielder Paul Conroy replacing Peter Cooke at midfield. Talisman Damien Comer will lead the Tribesmen out in the number 14 jersey.

The throw in on Sunday is at 4pm, with the U20 Connacht Final between Roscommon and Mayo the curtain raiser. The teams for this contest will be announced tomorrow lunch time.


  1. Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)
  2. David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
  3. Peter Domican (St Brigid’s)
  4. Niall McInerney (St Brigid’s)
  5. John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
  6. Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
  7. Brian Stack (St Brigid’s)
  8. Cathal Compton (Strokestown)
  9. Tadgh O’Rourke (Tulsk)
  10. Ciarán Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
  11. Enda Smith (Boyle)
  12. Conor Devaney (C) (Kilbride)
  13. Donie Smith (Boyle)
  14. Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
  15. Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)


  1. Ruairí Lavelle (Bóthar na Trá/Cnoc na Cathrach)
  2. Declan Kyne (An Fhairce)
  3. Seán Andy Ó’ Ceallaigh(Naomh Ánna, Leitir Mór)
  4. David Wynne (Maigh Cuilinn)
  5. Cathal Sweeney (Cill Ainnín)
  6. Gareth Bradshaw (Maigh Cuilinn)
  7. Johnny Heaney (Cill Ainnín)
  8. Paul Conroy (Naomh Séamus)
  9. Tom Flynn (Baile Átha’n Rí)
  10. Eamonn Brannigan (Naomh Micheál)
  11. Barry McHugh (An Creagán/Magh Locha)
  12. Seán Kelly (Maigh Cuilinn)
  13. Ian Burke (Corofinne)
  14. Damian Comer (C) (Anach Cuain)
  15. Shane Walsh (Cill Chloirín/Cluain Bheirn)