Marching out to win the 1956 All-Ireland Final against Cork. Jack Mangan, Sean Keeley, Gerry Daly, Tom Dillon, Jack Kissane, Jack Mahon, Mick Greally, Frank Evers, Mattie McDonagh, Jackie Coyle, Billy O' Neill, Joe Young, Gerry Kirwan, Frank Stockwell and Sean PurcellConnacht Delegates - 
Back Row - Ging Duignan (Leitrim), Tom 'Click' Brennan (Sligo), Jim Creamer (Leitrim), Eugene Gilhawley (Sligo), J P 'Doc' Callaghan (Roscommon), Micheal O' Callaghan, (Roscommon), Sean Hackett (Mayo), Jim McTiernan (Sligo), Patsy Geraghty (Galway), Dick Ellis (Leitrim)

Front Row: - Canon M J Mooney (Galway), Dan O' Rourke, Brendan Nestor (Galway), Tom Kilcoyne (Sligo), John Joe Fahey (Roscommon), John Dunne (Galway), FR Paddy Mahon (Galway), Jimmy Moran (Galway)

The 1950’s

Connacht GAA recieved an encouraging boost at the opening of the decade with Mayo capturing the Sam Maguire and thus compensating for the many disappointments felt by the county and the province in preceding years. The Mayo players – and many others in Connacht – were to become household names in the footballing world.

While the hurling world rejoiced at Galway’s victory over Wexford in the National League ‘Home final’ earning the right to travel to New York where they defeated New York 2-11 to 208 and took their first national title since 1931.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook