Railway Cup Semi-Final. Munster v Connacht. Back Row - Aiden Brady, Josie Murray, Jimmy O Donnell, Jack Kissane, Brendan McLoughlin, Mattie McDonagh, John Lynch, Willie Casey
Front Row: Don Feely, Eamonn Walsh, Cathal Flynn, Gerry O' Malley, Jack Mahon (captain), George Geraghty and Tony Hade

The 1960s

1960 signalled the end of a wonderful run of five Connacht titles in a row for Galway – a feat only achieved once before in the province, when Mayo were champions from 1906 to 1910. Four players – Sean Purcell, Mattie McDonagh, Joe Young and Jack Mahon – had the distinction of lining out with Galway in all five finals, and had played in all of the championship games over those five years, carving a special niche for themselves in Connacht GAA history.

1965 was also a historic year for Roscommon hurling when they won the All-Ireland Junior Hurling title for the first time

1966 was perhaps Connachts most successful year ever in Gaelic football with 4 All-Ireland titles coming to the west. ‘The west was truly awake

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook