This decade is remembered for Sligo’s historic win in 1975. Leitrims bright spot was in their Under-21 provincial title in 77′ and their fine effort against a great kerry team in the semi-final.

Roscommon were very much to the fore in provincial administration with Dr Donal Keenan succeeding Brendan Nestor as Council Chairman and three years later being elected Uachtaran Cumann Luthchleas Gael. Dr Hyde park was also opened in 1971.

While there had been concerns during the 70’s over the low standard of football in Connacht, hopes appeared brighter after Roscommons National League success of 1979 and a thrilling provincial final which had a record gate of £30,000. Comhairle Chonnacht looked forward to the 1980’s with confidence.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search