Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Teams Named for Connacht Championship Quarter Finals

May 3rd, 2019

Teams Named for Connacht Championship Quarter Finals

2 May 2019; Liam Gavaghan of London, left, and Paul Conroy of Galway in attendance during the Sam Maguire coming ‘home’ to London as GAA and Tourism Ireland mark the start of Championship 2019 at St Katharine Docks in London, England. Photo by Harry Murphy/Sportsfile

The Connacht Championship gets underway this weekend with two fixtures taking place 3,500 miles apart!

Galway travel to Ruislip to play London on Sunday in what will be the opening match of the 2019 Championship, throw in 3.00pm. The winners will take on Sligo in the Connacht Semi Final on June 2nd. On the otherside of the Atlantic, Mayo face New York which throws in at 2.15pm local time. The winners of this game will play either Roscommon or Leitrim in Connacht semi-final on 25 May.


Galway: Rory Lavelle; Eoghan Kerin, Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh, David Wynne; Liam Silke, John Daly, Gary O’Donnell; Tom Flynn, Michael Daly; Antoine O’Laoi, Padraic Cunningham, Johnny Heaney; Ian Burke, Shane Walsh, Danny Cummins

London: Gavin McEvoy, Philip Butler, Matthew Moynihan, Conor O’Neill, David Carrabine, Michael Clarke, Eoin Flanagan, Anthony McDermott, Liam Feerick, Mark Gottsche, Liam Gavaghan, Barry Tully, Conor Doran, Fearghal McMahon, Killian Butler

Mayo:  Robert Hennelly; Chris Barrett, Brendan Harrison, Keith Higgins; Patrick Durcan (captain) Lee Keegan, James McCormack; Matthew Ruane, Aidan O’Shea; Evan Regan, Jason Doherty, Fergal Boland; Kevin McLoughlin, Darren Coen, James Carr.

New York: Vinny Cadde, Michael Creedon, Gerard McCarten, Robert Gorman, Paddy Boyle, Michael Naughton, Matthew Queenan, Cathal Compton, Sean Hurley, Shane Hogan, Luke Kelly, Daniel McKenna, David Freeman, Niall Madine, Peter Hatzer