Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship

March 11th, 2016

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship

In what is a repeat of last years U21 Championship final, Roscommon face off against Galway in tonight’s EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship 2016 Preliminary Round. Last year’s encounter served up a cracker of a contest with Roscommon prevailing in the end by three points, in a game that will be remembered for a long time by all who were in Tuam stadium last year. Roscommon, on winning that final, retained the JJ Fahy Cup for the first time in their history.

Galway in travelling to Kiltoom tonight will be hoping to derail any thoughts Roscommon may have on a three-in-a-row of U21 titles and can call on four(Tadhg O’ Malley, Kieran Molloy, Endat Tierney and Eamonn Brannigan) of last year’s team as well as a number of players who have featured on the Senior team in 2016, (Peter Cooke, Paul Mannion and Ruairi Greene). Galway announced their starting 15 earlier this week, they line out as follows;

1. Tadhg O’Malley (Lettermore), 2. Luke Burke (Caltra), 3. Oisin Canney (Clonbur), 4. Rory Green (Killanin), 5. Kieran Molloy (Corofin), 6. Enda Tierney (Oughterard), 7. Brian Shaughnessy (Ballinasloe), 8. Michael Daly (Mount/Moylough), 9. Peter Cooke (Maigh Chuilinn), 10. Jason Lyons (Barna), 11. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michael’s), 12 Paul Mannion (Kilconly), 13. Antaine Ó Laoi (An Spideal), 14. Eoin Finnerty (Mount/Moylough), 15. Colm Mannion (Mount/Moylough)


Roscommon football is on a high at the moment following several good wins in Division 1 of the Allianz league. They will look to Senior players, Sean Mullooly, Cathal Compton, Tadhg O’ Rourke, Ultan Harney and Diarmuid Murtagh as they aim for a semi-final tilt at Sligo. Roscommon have captured the last two titles at this grade and will be hoping to continue their fine form on home soil.

The two counties have won the last six Connacht U21 provincial titles between them and if the game is anything like the encounter in Tuam Stadium last year, we should certainly be entertained.

Eirgrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship 2016

Friday 11th March

Roscommon v Galway

Referee: J. Henry

Throw in: 7.30pm

Venue: Kiltoom

Admission €10 Students/OAP’s €5