Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship 2015

March 31st, 2015

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship 2015

Galway will be host to the provincial U21 Football Champions 2014, Roscommon, in this years eagerly anticipated EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship Final. These two counties have met in the final of this competition on 12 occasions, (1 replay) with the last meeting in 2013, in which the tribesmen emerged victorious, defeating Roscommon in Hyde park on a score-line of 1-17 to 2-11 after extra time.

Roscommon had a facile 24 point victory over Sligo in the first of the semi-finals of this year’s competition. They helped themselves to six goals on the night through Enda Smith, Diarmuid Murtagh and Paul Kenny. The team will look to team joint captains Cathal Compton and Tadhg O’Rourke at midfield and senior players, Enda Smith, Ronan Daly, Ultan Harney and Diarmuid Murtagh in their quest to capture their first successive Connacht U21 championship title.

Galway went to MacHale Park in the second semi-final and had a solid four point victory over their old rivals, Mayo. Indeed it was the display of team captain and senior star, Damien Comer who scored 1-5, which had all in attendance talking. He was the leader and inspiration to the Galway men on the night, and he is carrying this form into the Senior County side, rattling a goal past the Roscommon Seniors in last Sunday’s Allainz league. Galway will rely on the talents of Liam Silke, Enda Tierney, Michael Day and Michael Daly to ensure that the men in maroon capture their nineteenth provincial crown at this level.

The game is preceded on the evening by the meeting of the same two counties in Round 4 of the Connacht GAA Minor league. This game throws in at 4.15pm.

Tickets for the games can be purchased through

All those attending are advised to arrive early.


Tuam Stadium
Saturday 4th April

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship Final
Galway v Roscommon
Throw in: 6pm.

Connacht GAA Minor League- Round 4
Galway v Roscommon
Throw in: 4.15pm