Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA


July 10th, 2017


GALWAY 3-11 SLIGO 0-10

By Cian O’Connell for at Pearse Stadium

These are encouraging times for the underage game in Galway with a third Connacht Minor title on the spin earned in Salthill.

Sligo contributed handsomely to an interesting first half, but ultimately Galway’s superior pace and power was decisive.

Busy early on, David Cummins’ Sligo snapped into the contest accumulating a 0-4 to 0-1 lead by the 10th minute.

Conall Ryan was causing Galway plenty of bother, while Luke Towey and Red Og Murphy also registered fine scores from play.

Galway responded impressively, though, reeling off 1-3 without reply including a splendid 17th minute goal from Conor Campbell, who finished smartly following a clever solo run.

That major nudged Galway 1-4 to 0-4 clear, but it remained tight until the interval with Ryan continuing to impress at the opposite end of the field for Sligo.

Murphy and Ryan nailed scores to narrow the gap to the minimum, but a sweet score from Evan Murphy was followed by a Darragh Silke free with Galway departing 1-6 to 0-6 ahead at the turnaround.

After the restart Galway struck three good points courtesy of midfielder Matthias Barrett (2) and Martin Kerrigan to pull edge six clear.

Niall Colsh replied with a delightful point for Sligo, but Galway pounced for a 42nd minute goal when substitute Daniel Kenny fisted home following Murphy’s delivery.

Galway’s Conor Newell was sent off in the 46th minute, but the Tribesmen remained in the ascendancy with Padraic Costello adding a third major.

Scorers for Galway: Darragh Silke 0-4 (3fs), Conor Campbell, Padraic Costello, and Daniel Kenny 1-0 each, Matthias Barrett and Martin Kerrigan 0-2 each, Evan Murphy, Rory Cunningham, and Liam Boyle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Sligo: Conall Ryan and Red Og Murphy (2fs) 0-3 each, Ryan Walsh, Luke Towey, Niall Colsh, Barry O’Gorman 0-1 each.

GALWAY: Oran Burke; Eoin McFadden, Sean Mulkerrin, Gavin Burke; Jack Glynn, Sean Fitzgerald, Liam Boyle; Matthias Barrett, Evan Murphy; Brian Harlowe, Darragh Silke, Conor Campbell; Conor Newell, Padraic Costello, Martin Kerrigan.

Subs: Daniel Kenny for Brian Harlowe (31), Liam Costello for Martin Kerrigan (49), Rory Cunningham for Padraic Costello (51), Ciaran Potter for Liam Boyle (53), James Kyne for Oran Burke (60).

SLIGO: Alan Davey; Josh Ellis, Brian Cox, Evan Lyons; Ben Tuohy, Evan Lavin, Oisin Conlon; Niall Colsh, Barry Gorman; Ciaran O’Dowd, Luke Towey, Karl McKenna; Conall Ryan, Red Og Murphy, Roland Anderson.

Subs: Micheal Cahill for Ciaran O’Dowd (28), Jack Stephenson for Karl McKenna (30+2, BC), James Weir for Ben Tuohy (44), Ryan Walsh for Roland Anderson (49), Joe McMunn for Evan Lavin (56), Oisin Grehan for Niall Colsh (60+2).

REFEREE: Liam Devenney (Mayo).