Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA GAA Sigerson Championship Weekend

February 16th, 2017 GAA Sigerson Championship Weekend

The Sigerson Cup weekend is upon us, and this year we have the honour of hosting both it and the Trench Cup (played between second tier higher education Institutes, Colleges and Universities) here at the Connacht GAA centre for the first time. This is a fantastic opportunity for us to showcase the magnificent centre we have here to the wider GAA community. The Sigerson weekend is one of the highlights of the GAA calendar, with football fans from all over Ireland flocking to watch some of the best young players in the country in action.

Sigerson Cup 2017

The Sigerson Cup is the pinnacle of higher education football and every year since 1911 it is hotly contested between Universities, Colleges and Institutes of Technology throughout Ireland. This year’s semi finalists are holders University College Dublin, St. Mary’s University College (Belfast), University of Limerick and University College Cork. UCD are striving to be the first team to win back to back Sigersons since Institute of Technology Sligo in 2004 and 2005.

The full programme of fixtures for the Sigerson Cup, 2017 see below:

Here is a small bit of background on each competing team:

University College Dublin

Sigerson Cup titles: 33

Most recent title: 2016

Manager: John Divilly

Quarter Final Result: UCD 1-18 UUJ 0-8

Quarter final line-up: C Honan; E Murchin, M Fitzsimons, N McInerney; C Mullaly, S Coen, J McCaffrey; B O’Sullivan; J Barry; A McDonnell, C McCarthy, E Wallace; P Mannion, C Basquel, L Moran. Subs: J Rossiter for McInerney (HT), B McGinn for Moran (HT), T Hayes for McDonnell (56), S O’Dea for Wallace (55), E Lowry for McCarthy (58).

St. Mary’s University College (Belfast)

Sigerson Cup Titles: 1

Most recent title: 1989

Manager: Paddy Tally

Quarter Final Result: DCU 2-13 ST Mary’s 2-14 (aet)

Quarter Final Line-up: M Reid; K Mallon, A McKay, R Mooney; C Byrne, C Meyler, C Mac Íomhar; O O’Neill, B Óg McGilligan; K McKernan, C McCann, C McShane; S McConville, M Fitzpatrick, C Corrigan. Subs: P Og McCrickard for C Byrne (52), J Hannigan for Mac Íomhar (52), C Convery for Fitzpatrick (56), C Quinn for B Óg McGilligan (58). ET: B Óg McGilligan for C Corrigan (61), C Byrne for R Mooney (61), S McConville for K Mallon (63), A Nugent for C McCann (75).

University College Cork

Sigerson Cup Titles: 21

Most Recent Title:  2014

Manager: Billy Morgan

Quarter Final Result: IT Carlow 1-06 UCC 0-10 (aet)

Quarter Final Line-up: M Martin; L Bastible, J McGuire, J Foley; K Crowley, M Flood, T O’Sullivan; I Maguire, R O’Toole; R Buckley, A Spillane,J Kennedy; C Dorgan; K Spillane, C Bambury. Subs: M O’Donnell O’Toole (BC 25), A O’Donovan for Dorgan (44), B O’Driscoll for  Buckley (55), K Flahive for McGuire (60), F Clifford for Bastible (60), C Kiely for Flood (60), I Galvin for A Spillane (70).

University of Limerick

Sigerson Cup Titles: None

Most Recent Titles: None

Manager: Brian Carson

Quarter Final Result: UL 0-10 DIT 0-7

Quarter Final Line-up: C O’Driscoll; C Long, J Mullins, D Brosnan; P White, L Boland, P Lillis; G Hegarty, C Sheehan; F Boland, M Geaney, B O’Keefe; S Ryan, D Daly, N McDermott. Subs: S Courtney for Brosnan (27), C O’Dea for Ryan (57), J Naughton for McDermott (60).


Trench Cup, 2017

The Trench Cup is played between second tier higher education Institutes, Colleges and Universities. It has been in existence since 1975. Throughout the years some of the great names of Gaelic football have competed in the Trench Cup, the first two players to be named man of the match in the first two finals were Brian Mullins and Pat Spillane, in 1975 and 1976 respectively. Institute of Technology Sligo and St Patricks, Drumcondra have won the most amount of Trench Cups, with both having won the competition five times each.

This year’s semi finalists are holders Dundalk Institute of Technology who won their first Trench Cup in 2016, Institute of Technology Blanchardstown, Marino Institute of Education and Waterford Institute of Technology.

The full programme of fixtures for the Trench Cup, 2017(see below): HE GAA Sigerson Championship Weekend

Match Times

Friday 17th February 2017

12noon: Semi Finals of the Corn na Mac Léinn

RCSI                                                       v              GMIT Letterfrack

UU Magee                                          v              Liverpool Hope

1.30pm: Semi Final 1 Trench Cup

DkIT                                                       v              IT Blanchardstown

2pm: Semi Final 1 of Sigerson Cup

St. Mary’s University College       v              UCC

3.30pm: Semi Final 2 of Trench Cup

Marino Inst                                         v              Waterford IT

4pm: Semi-Final 2 of Sigerson Cup

UL                                                           v              UCD

Saturday 18th February 2017

12noon: Final of Corn Comhairle Ardoideachais

Carlow Inst                                         v Galway T.I.

12.30pm: Corn na Mac Léinn Final

1.00pm: Trench Cup Final

3pm: Sigerson Cup Final