Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Match Preview Mayo v Sligo

May 18th, 2017

Match Preview Mayo v Sligo

Connacht Senior Football Championship Quarter Final

Mayo v Sligo

Sunday 21st May 2pm

Elvery’s MacHale Park, Castlebar


Mayo and Sligo face off on Sunday in the Quarter Final of the Connacht Senior Football Championship on Sunday in Elvery’s MacHale Park, Castlebar at 2pm. The incentive for the winners will be a Connacht semi final against Galway in Pearse stadium on the 11th of June. It’s the first time the counties have met in the Connacht Championship since the 2015 Connacht Final, when Mayo ran out comprehensive 6-26 to 2-11 winners. Sligo’s last victory over Mayo came in 2010 when they came from behind to beat Mayo, inspired by Charlie Harrison. Seán Hurson from Tyrone will referee Sunday’s match.

Sligo have named an unchanged team from their game against New York two weeks ago which they won 1-21 to 1-13, with veterans Mark Breheny and Adrian Marren again spearheading the attack. For the Mayo men, manager Stephen Rochford keeps the faith with ten of the players who started last years replayed All Ireland Final with David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Ger Cafferky, Fergal Boland and Conor O’Shea coming into the team. Boland is the only man making his Championship debut, with the Aghamore man being handed the number 10 jersey. The game will be preceded by the meeting of the same two counties at U17 level, which will throw in at 11.45.

Ticket details can be found here;

Mayo team:

  1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites) 2. Chris Barrett (Belmullet) 3. Ger Cafferky (Ballina Stephenites) 4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis) 5. Colm Boyle (Davitts) 6. Lee Keegan (Westport) 7. Patrick Durcan ( Castlebar Mitchels) 8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy) 9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown) 10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore) 11. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber) 12. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy) 13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore) 14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber) 15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

Sligo team:

  1. Aidan Devaney (Calraigh Naomh íosaef) 2. Ross Donavan (Clasrigh an Oirthear) 3. Charlie Harrison (Naomh Eoin) 4. Eoin McHugh (Gaeil Naomh Molaise) 5. Keelan Cawley (Cúil Irra-Leathros) 6. Brendan Egan (Naomh Uinsean) 7. John Kelly (Tuar Loistreáin) 8. Patrick O’Connor (Naomh Fearnáin) 9. Adrian McIntyre (Tuar Loistreáin) 10. Neil Ewing (Droim Cliabh-Ros Ceite) 11. Mark Breheny (Naomh Muire) 12. Kyle Cawley (Naomh Muire) 13. Stephen Coen (Naomh Muire) 14. Pat Hughes (Gaobach) 15. Adrian Marren (Curraigh)