Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

New York v Sligo

May 4th, 2017

New York v Sligo

The Connacht Senior Football Championship gets underway with the meeting of New York and Sligo this Sunday in Gaelic Park, New York at 3.15pm local time (8.15pm Irish time). It is the first time the two counties have met in the Connacht Championship since 2012, when Sligo comfortably overcame “The Exiles” in Gaelic Park 3-21 to 0-6. The two sides have met three times in total since New York’s entry to the championship.

New York have competed in the Connacht Championship since 1999 when they were beaten 3-13 to 0-10 in Castlebar by Mayo. They have yet to taste victory in the championship despite a number of near misses, none nearer than last year’s one point defeat to Roscommon, which eventually finished up 0-17 to 1-15.

This year’s New York panel is much changed from last year’s, with several players added, most notably former Mayo star Tom Cunniffe and Dublin All-Star hurler Danny Sutcliffe. Goalkeeper Vinny Cadden will face his native county, and other high profile players include Ross Wherrity from Donegal and Conor McGraynor from Wicklow. Sligo travel stateside without Kevin McDonnell, Luke Nicholson and Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch due to exam commitments, while top scoring forward Niall Murphy is out with a hamstring tear. Sligo had a mixed Allianz league campaign, and will be looking to bring through several of the young stars from their U21 team who brought All-Ireland finalists Galway to extra time in the Connacht Final.

Follow @ConnachtGAA for regular Twitter updates from the game, which will also be broadcast live on RTE Radio 1 and Ocean FM. Highlights of the game will be shown on Monday night at 8pm on the TG4 programme GAA 2017. Teams will be published on this website closer to the game.

New York panel: Vinny Caden, Tom Cunniffe, David Cunnane, Shane Hogan, Peter Withlowe, Brain Gallaher, David Culhane, Paddy Boyle, Conor McGraynor, Daniel Mckenna, Gerard McCartan (capt), Shane O’Connor, Keith Quinn, Danny Suttcliffe, Jer O’Sullivan, Eoin Flanagan, Paul Lambe, Keith Scally, Tony Donnelly, Kevin Connelly, David Freeman, Stephen Doake, Ronan McGinley, Conor Farrell, Paul McGinley, Colin Keane, Ross Wherity, Eoin Ward, Eugene McVerry, Nial McFeeley.