Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Round-Up of all Connacht Minor Championship News

July 2nd, 2018

Round-Up of all Connacht Minor Championship News

Electric Ireland GAA Football Connacht Minor Championship 2018



Rank Team P W D L F A PTS
1 Galway 3 3 0 0 69 30 6
2 Roscommon 3 2 0 1 59 50 4
3 Mayo 4 2 0 2 79 60 4
4 Leitrim 3 1 0 2 40 72 2
5 Sligo 3 0 0 3 33 68 0


Sligo 0-13 Leitrim 2-14 29/6/2018 19:30 Round 4 Markievicz Park  
Galway 0-15 Mayo 1-9 29/6/2018 19:30 Round 4 Tuam Stadium  
Leitrim 0-9 v Roscommon 4-15 23/6/2018 17:00 Round 3 Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada  
Mayo 2-18 v Sligo 0-10 23/6/2018 12:30 Round 3 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar  
Sligo 0-10 v Galway 3-15 11/5/2018 19:00 Round 2 Markievicz Park  
Roscommon 4-12 v Mayo 0-11 11/5/2018 19:00 Round 2 Kiltoom  
Galway 4-18 v Roscommon 0-8 4/5/2018 19:00 Round 1 Tuam Stadium  
Mayo 4-20 v Leitrim 1-8 2/5/2018 20:00 Round 1 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar  


Friday 29th June, Tuam Stadium


MAYO 1-9

Galway held off a late Mayo rally in Tuam to overcome their great rivals by 3 points at a gloriously sun kissed Tuam Stadium on Friday last, the 29th June.

Galway started off the stronger and led by 0-6 to 0-2 after 15 minutes, with their buzzing inside forward line getting quality service from out the field and causing the Mayo rear-guard huge problems. However, 5 minutes later the Mayo men were level after a brilliant goal from centre forward Jack Mahon following a barnstorming run through the middle. The score at half time was 0-11 to 1-6, with two delightful scores in a row from Martin Ball narrowing the gap and giving Mayo confidence going into the break.

Mayo were left to rue some very wayward shooting in the second half, as despite enjoying a dominance in posession they were unable to convert the multitude of chances infront of the sticks that they had allowing Galway to eventually run out 3 point winners. Among those to catch the eye for Galway were goalie Donie Halloran who was very accurate with his kicks all day, wing back Cathal Sweeney who kicked three fine points from play aswell as the aforementioned full forward line of Cooley, Cox and Gormally. Mayo were best served by Alfie Morrison, Martin Ball and Jack Mahon before he had to leave the game prematurely through injury.

Scorers for Galway: Matthew Cooley 0-4, Cathal Sweeney 0-3, Daniel Cox 0-3, Ryan Monahan 0-1 (f), Conor Raftery 0-1, Éanna McCormack 0-1, Liam Judge 0-1, Tony Gill 0-1

Scorers for Mayo: Jack Mahon 1-0, Martin Ball 0-4, Ultan O’Reilly 0-3 (1f), Frank Irwin 0-1, Enda Hession 0-1 (f).

GALWAY: Donie Halloran; Ethan Walsh, Seán Black, Cian Deane; Ryan Monahan, Tony Gill, Cathal Sweeney; Paul Kelly, Conor Raftery; Liam Judge, Éanna McCormack, Oisín McCormack; Oisín Gormally, Daniel Cox, Matthew Cooley.

Subs: Aidan Halloran for McCormack (38), Eoghan Tinney for Gormally (38), Seán Horkan for McCormack (48), Conor Halbard for Raftery (58), Raftery for Halbard (61).

MAYO: Ronan Connolly; Alfie Morrison, Luke Dawson, Seán Holmes; Evan Ivers, Conor Dunleavy, Aiden Cosgrave; Jack Carney, Frank Irwin; Liam Donoghue, Jack Mahon, Liam Óg Horkan; Martin Ball, Ultan O’Reilly, Enda Hession.

Subs: Lee Traynor for Mahon (5 blood), Mahon for Traynor (9), Ruairi Keane for Ivers (30), Traynor for Mahon (31), Fionnan Ryan for Óg Horkan (half-time), Ciaran Mylett for Keane (51), Eoghan McHale for Cosgrove (54), Fergal Sweeney for O’Reilly (57), O’Reilly for Sweeney (60), Sweeney for Dunleavy (61), Conor Calvey for Hession (61).

 Friday 29th June, Markievicz Park


SLIGO 0-13

Two late goals from Paul Keaney and David O’Connell helped Leitrim to come from behind and beat Sligo to collect their first two points of the Connacht Minor Championship Round Robin in a brilliant game in Markievicz Park. Leitrim, who were 0-11 to 0-6 down at half time and had trailed by as much as 7 in the first period, capitalised on the Yeats County men being reduced to 14 in the second half to produce a stunning comeback and run out impressive 7 point winners.

Scorers – Leitrim: P Keaney 1-3 (1 ’45’); O Bohan 0-3 (3f); D O’Connell 1-0; T Prior, S Mallon, J Quinn (f) 0-2 each; F Davitt, C Moran 0-1 each.

Sligo: L Deignan 0-4 (2f); C Finn 0-3; S Doyle 0-2; O Murphy (f), E Sweeney, R Moylan, D Barrett 0-1 each.

Leitrim – M Earley; T McKeon, E McLoughlin, J Flynn; P McKenna, P Keaney, F McGovern; C Moran, D O’Connell; S Mallon, C Clancy, J Quinn; D Maguire, T Prior, O Bohan. Subs: O Niblock for Maguire (h-t); N Keegan for Clancy (49); F Davitt for Quinn (60+2)

Sligo – G Gallagher; M Connolly-McGowan, D Barrett, L Fleming; S Carnahan, S Carroll, E Sweeney (c); R Wilson, J Heraghty; O Murphy, S Doyle, C Finn; R Moylan, M Clavin, L Deignan. Subs: L Wilson for Heraghty (30+2); C McKeon for R Wilson (37); J Davis for Finn (52); D Williams for Clavin (60+2)


The remaining fixtures in the competition are as follows:

Details Date Time Round Venue  
Top Team in Group v Runner up in Group 13/7/2018 tbc Final Tbc  
Leitrim v Galway 6/7/2018 19:00 Round 5 Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada  
Roscommon v Sligo 6/7/2018 19:00 Round 5 Dr. Hyde Park