Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Sean Purcell Academy Day Taking Place this Saturday

May 23rd, 2019

Sean Purcell Academy Day Taking Place this Saturday

Connacht GAA Sean Purcell Academy Day 2019

The Provincial Talent Academy days are blitzes involving County Academy panels at U-14, U-15 and U-16 age groups. These blitzes are organised by the Connacht GAA Coaching & Games Committee with the Connacht GAA Ted Webb (U-16) and Connacht GAA Dermot Earley Blitz day (U-15) across the summer months.

U14 blitzes 2019

The Connacht GAA Sean Purcell Academy Blitz Day Gaelic involves a total of 12 teams representing the 5 provincial Counties. Players taking part must be under 14 years of age on the 1st of January 2019, i.e. have a date of birth between January 1st and December 31st 2006.

Competition Rules

General Rules 2019

  • Games will be played on a normal size Gaelic games pitch.
  • Each team to play 2 games.
  • Games will be played on a 15 a side basis over 20 minutes per half for all games with an interval of 2 minutes
  • Games will be played under the normal rules of Gaelic football with the following exceptions
  1. players will be limited to two plays of the ball
  2. Player that is fouled takes the free
  • Goalkeepers can take either option on kickout, (From hand or from ground)
  • A size 4 Gaelic football will be used in all matches
  • All Mentors to remain outside the playing area.
  • All Games will start and finish as per scheduled time.
  • Teams are asked to cooperate with Field stewards at all times.


  • Each squad can be made up of a maximum of 24 players. Games are played on a 15-a-side basis. Rolling substitutions are in operation. There is no limit to the number of substitutions made per game provided:
    • Substitutions take place during a break in play
    • The referee is notified that a substitution is to be made – a substitution slip is not required.
    • Players enter and leave the field between where the 65m lines intersect the side-line


Games Schedule

Round 1- 10am

Roscommon Blue v Sligo Black   Pitch 2

Galway 1 v Mayo 2   Pitch 3

Mayo 1 v Roscommon Yellow   Pitch 4


Round 2- 10.50am

Mayo 1 v Roscommon Blue   Pitch 2

Sligo Black v Galway 1   Pitch 3

Mayo 2 v Roscommon Yellow   Pitch 4


Round 3- 11.40am

Sligo White v Mayo 4   Pitch 2

Leitrim v Galway 2   Pitch 3

Mayo 3 v Galway 3   Pitch 4


Round 4- 12.30pm 

Mayo 3 v Sligo White   Pitch 2

Galway 2 v Mayo 4   Pitch 4

Leitrim v Galway 3   Pitch 3