Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Sligo and Mayo teams announced ahead of Connacht Final clash

July 16th, 2015

Sligo and Mayo teams announced ahead of Connacht Final clash

Sligo and Mayo have both announced their starting teams ahead of their Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship Final meeting on Sunday. These two counties contested the Connacht GAA Championship final in 2012 with Mayo prevailing by two points in a tightly contested game. It is worth noting that Sligo are the last Connacht team to beat Mayo within the province, in 2010, since then Mayo have captured the last four Connacht Championships.

Sligo are going with the same fifteen that started in their semi-final victory over Roscommon. The team captained by Mark Breheny have a number of players who will be making their first appearance in a Connacht Final with only six players starting on Sunday who also played in their last appearance in 2012. Sligo will enter the fixture on Sunday bidding for their first Connacht Title since 2007 and only their fourth ever in the province. The team selected is as follows;

Sligo: 1. Aidan Devaney(Calry/St. Josephs), 2. Ross Donovan(Eastern Harps), 3. Kevin McDonnell(Castleconnor), 4. Daniel Maye(Tubbercurry), 5. Keelan Cawley(Coolera Strandhill), 6. Brendan Egan(St. Vincent’s), 7. Eoin Flanagan(Naomh Eoin), 8. Cian Breheny(St. Mary’s), 9. Niall Murphy(Coolera Strandhill), 10. Criostóir Davey(Coolaney/Mullinabreena), 11. Mark Breheny(St. Mary’s), 12. Neil Ewing(Drumcliffe/Rosses Point), 13. David Kelly(Tubbercurry), Pat Hughes(Geevagh), 15. Adrian Marren(Curry).

The Mayo team announced show two changes in personnel with Ger Cafferkey and Donal Vaughan coming into the full back line instead of Kevin Keane and Chris Barrett. While there had been injury concerns over Diarmuid O’ Connor and Andy Moran, who both picked up injuries in the win over Galway, both have kept their place for the Green & Red in their ‘drive for five’. The level of experience in this Mayo team can be seen when one looks back at the final of 2012, Mayo have ten players that started the last time these two teams met in that Connacht Final with Aidan O’ Shea who was introduced from the bench making it eleven players, lining out on Sunday. The Mayo team announced is;

Mayo: David Clarke(Ballina Stephenites); Ger Cafferkey(Ballina Stephenites), Donal Vaughan(Ballinrobe), Keith Higgins(Ballyhaunis), Lee Keegan(Westport), Tom Cunniffe(Castlebar Mitchels), Colm Boyle(Davitts), Seamus O’ Shea(Breaffy), Tom Parsons(Charlestown), Diarmuid O’ Connor(Ballintubber), Aidan O’ Shea(Breaffy), Kevin McLoughlin(Knockmore), Andy Moran(Ballaghaderreen), Cillian O’ Connor(Ballintubber), Jason Doherty(Burrishoole).



Sunday 19th July 2015

Dr. Hyde Park, Roscommon

Final: Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship

4pm: Sligo v Mayo

Final: Connacht GAA Minor Football Championship

2pm: Sligo v Galway