Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Sligo defeat Roscommon to reach provincial decider

July 4th, 2015

Sligo defeat Roscommon to reach provincial decider


Electric Ireland Connacht GAA Minor Football Championship Semi-Final

Sligo 1-14 Roscommon 3-5

Sligo recorded victory over Roscommon to reach their first provincial Minor Final since 1998 after what was an exciting end to the game. Sligo looked to be in control for various stages of the game however were nearly sucker punched at end with two goals from Roscommon to draw the game level. Sligo had seven different scorers in the first half which ended in a welter of excitement with goals being scored by each side to leave Sligo heading in at half time leading 1-7 to 1-3. Sligo extended their lead after half time going into an eight point lead with Roscommon only scoring their first point in the second half in the twenty third minute. Supporters watching could not envisage the exciting end to the game with Roscommon rattling Sligo with two quick fire goals from Daniel Glynn and Brian Stack and a Conor Murray point to leave the game tied on thirty minutes 3-5 to 1-11, however Sligo finished the game with three points through Rian Kennedy, Darragh Cummins and Cathal Herron to see the Sligo men home on a 1-14 to 3-5 score line. The Sligo Minors will now join their County Senior team in the provincial final on the 19th July in Dr. Hyde Park. This is the County’s first time having both Minor and Senior teams competing in their respective finals in the same year. Sligo minors now await the second semi-final between age old rivals Mayo and Galway to see who they will face in this final.

Sean Power2

After the game Sligo wing back Sean Power was selected as Connacht GAA Man of the Match.

Roscommon Scorers: R Hughes, D Glynn & B Stack 1-0 each, H Darcy 0-3f, C McKeon (f) & C Murray 0-1 each

Sligo Scorers: K Cawley 1-3, L Gaughan (0-1f), D Cummins & C Herron 0-2 each, P O’Connor, S Power, S Carrabine, P Kilcoyne & R Kennedy 0-1 each.

Roscommon: J Fetherstone; D Duff, A Dowd, J Donohue; L Kelly, M Richardson, R Hughes; C Murray, G Keenan; M McGloin, B Stack, K White; C Payne, H Darcy, C McKeon. Subs: L Carty for Kelly (15), M Bourke for Carty (15 – b/c), D Glynn for McKeon (42), C Lennon for White (51)

Sligo: E Kilgannon; M O’Dowd, E McGuinness, B Mahon; N Mullen, F Cawley, S Power; P Kilcoyne, D Cummins; L Gaughan, N Rooney, S Carrabine; K Cawley, P O’Connor, M Gordon. Subs: C Herron for Carrabine (34), A Kearns for Mahon (46 – b/c), R Kennedy for Gaughan (52), K Banks for F Cawley (60+2 – b/c)

Referee: Liam Devenney (Mayo)