Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Sligo overcome London in Ruislip

May 6th, 2018

Sligo overcome London in Ruislip

SLIGO 1-21 LONDON 1-11

Report from

Adrian Marren scored 1-6 as Sligo advanced to the Connacht Senior Football Championship Semi-Final.

Cathal Corey’s team will face the winners of next weekend’s eagerly anticipated Mayo and Galway at the penultimate stage out west.

In sweltering conditions in Ruislip, Sligo led at half time by 1-10 to 1-3, but the home side rallied at the start of the second half to cut the gap back to within four points.

That was as close as London got, though, as the introduction of the promising Sean Carrabine aided Sligo, who pulled clear in the closing stages.

Carrabine fired over two important points for Sligo, who finished strongly to claim a deserved victory against Ciaran Deely’s hard working outfit.

Adrian Marren’s 24 minute penalty put daylight between the sides as the prolific Sligo forward netted following a foul on Kyle Cawley.

That boosted the visitors hugely as Sligo started brightly in the warm conditions. Pat Hughes got the opening score of 2018 when Niall Murphy picked out the Geevagh clubman.

Early on London struggled to deal with Sligo, who started in excellent fashion with Niall Murphy prominent for Corey’s team.

Mark Gottsche, a key figure when London stunned Sligo back in 2013, was influential for the home team, who responded to the concession of Marren’s goal by grabbing one of their own.

A sweeping move involving Gottsche and captain Liam Gavaghan was finished by Fearghal McMahon, but Sligo still led by seven at the turnaround.

When the action recommenced London trimmed the gap down to four, but following a black card for talisman Gottsche the Exiles weren’t able to narrow the margin any further.

Sean Carrabine and Stephen Coen came off the bench for Sligo, who closed out the game effectively.

Scorers for Sligo: Adrian Marren 1-6 (1-0 pen, 1f) Cathal Henry 0-3, Niall Murphy, Sean Carrabine, and Stephen Coen 0-2 each, Pat Hughes, Patrick O’Connor, Aidan Devaney, Liam Gaughan, Cian Breheny, and Neil Ewing 0-1 each.

Scorers for London: Liam Gavaghan 0-6 (2fs), Fearghal McMahon 1-1, Liam Irwin 0-2 (1f), Martin Carroll and Eoin Murray 0-1 each.

SLIGO: Aidan Devaney; Ross Donavan, Eoin McHugh, Charlie Harrison; Gerard O’Kelly Lynch, Adrian McIntyre, Neil Ewing; Kevin McDonnell, Niall Murphy; Cathal Henry, Patrick O’Connor, Pat Hughes; Liam Gaughan, Adrian Marren, Kyle Cawley.

Subs: Cian Breheny for Patrick O’Connor (46), Sean Carrabine for Pat Hughes (46), Stephen Coen for Kyle Cawley (54), Finnian Cawley for Cathal Henry (66) Luke Nichloson for Liam Gaughan (68) Darragh Cummins for Niall Murphy (70).

LONDON: Gavin McEvoy; Philip Butler, Ciaran Dunne, Michael Walsh; David Carrabine, Marcus Mangan, Patrick Begley; Anthony McDermott, Mark Gottsche; Fearghal McMahon, Liam Gavaghan, Thomas Waters; Ryan Elliott, Adrian Moyles, Killian Butler.

Subs: Liam Irwin for Killian Butler (HT), Conor Murphy for Adrian Moyles (HT), Martin Carroll for Mark Gottsche (38, BC), Conor O’Neill for Ciaran Dunne (43, BC), Gerard Byrne for Michael Walsh (54), Eoin Murray for David Carrabine (63).