Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Teams announced ahead of Markievicz meeting

June 18th, 2015

Teams announced ahead of Markievicz meeting

Sligo have the unique honour of being the last County team to feature in this year’s championship when they host local rivals Roscommon in Markievicz Park on Saturday. Sligo have not had a competitive fixture since the last round of the Allianz league(5th April), when they defeated Armagh, 1-19 to 1-8. The team announced to play Roscommon show the same fifteen players that lined out in that Allianz League game however it does show some positional changes. Neil Carew has four championship debuts and in all five personnel changes from their last championship outing. Daniel Maye and Eoin Flanagan start in a much changed defence from last year’s Championship outing, where they were defeated by Cork in the All Ireland Qualifiers. Cian Breheny start’s in midfield alongside Niall Murphy in what will be the youngest midfield pairing in the championship, while Criostóir Davey lines out at right half forward, where he will join an experienced forward division. The team in full is;

Sligo lineoutSligo: 1. Aidan Devaney(Calry/St. Josephs), 2. Ross Donovan(Eastern Harps), 3. Kevin McDonnell(Castleconnor), 4. Daniel Maye(Tubbercurry), 5. Keelan Cawley(Coolera Strandhill), 6. Brendan Egan(St. Vincent’s), 7. Eoin Flanagan(Naomh Eoin), 8. Cian Breheny(St. Mary’s), 9. Niall Murphy(Coolera Strandhill), 10. Criostóir Davey(Coolaney/Mullinabreena), 11. Mark Breheny(St. Mary’s), 12. Neil Ewing(Drumcliffe/Rosses Point), 13. David Kelly(Tubbercurry), Pat Hughes(Geevagh), 15. Adrian Marren(Curry).



John Evans makes two changes to his starting team from their victory over London. Into the team come Ronan Stack at right half back replacing Donal Ward and Conor Daly starting at right half forward replacing Donie Shine. There are positional changes in the forward line with Cathal Cregg at centre half forward, Senan Kilbride starting at Full forward and Ciaran Murtagh now lining out in the number fifteen jersey. The team announced;

Roscommon: 1. D. O’ Malley(Ml Glaveys) 2. S. McDermott(Western Gaels) 3. N. Carty(Padraig Pearses) 4. N. Collins(Castlerea St. Kevins), 5. R. Stack(St. Brigids) 6. N. Daly(Padraig Pearses), 7. C. Cafferkey(Western Gaels), 8. I. Kilbride(St. Brigids), 9. C. Shine(Clann na Gael), 10. Conor Daly(Padraig Pearses) 11. C. Cregg(Western Gaels) 12. E. Smith(Boyle), 13.  D. Murtagh(St. Faithleachs), 14. S. Kilbride(St. Brigids). 15. C. Murtagh(St. Faithleachs).


Sligo_digital resized

 The game throws in at 7pm on Saturday and will be preceded by the Semi-Final of the Connacht Ladies TG4 Intermediate Football Championship featuring the same counties. This game will commence at 4.45pm.

All patrons are advised to purchase their tickets in advance, ticket details on the following link-


Saturday 20th June 2015

Markievicz Park

Semi-Final: Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship

7pm: Sligo v Roscommon

Semi-Final: Connacht Ladies TG4 Intermediate Football Championship

4.45pm: Sligo v Roscommon