Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Teams announced- London v Roscommon

May 21st, 2015

Teams announced- London v Roscommon

Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship

London v Roscommon

Sunday 24th May 2015


Referee: E. Kinsella(Laois)

The Roscommon team announced to play London in the Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship shows six changes from the team that captured the Allianz League 2 Title in Croke Park. Into the team come Sean McDermott and Donal Ward in defence, a championship debut at midfield for Mark Healy, with Enda Smith, Donie Shine and Ciaran Murtagh coming into the forward line. Sean McDermott, Cathal Cregg and Donie Shine all featured for Roscommon on the last occasion both teams met in 2010, Roscommon winning on a score-line of 0-14 to 0-6, Shine grabbing 0-10 points on that occasion. The Roscommon team is;

Roscommon: D. O’ Malley(Ml Glaveys) S. McDermott(Western Gaels) N. Carty(Padraig Pearses) N. Collins(Castlerea St. Kevins), D. Ward(Kilmacud Crokes), N. Daly(Padraig Pearses), C. Cafferkey(Western Gaels), M. Healy(Roscommon Gaels), C. Shine(Clann na Gael), E. Smith(Boyle), D. Shine(Clann na Gael), C. Murtagh(St. Faithleachs), D. Murtagh(St. Faithleachs), S. Kilbride(St. Brigids), C. Cregg(Western Gaels)

The London team announced hand championship debuts to Scott Conroy, James Moran and Alan O’ Hara with centre half back Caoimhin Carty, starting his first game, although he was introduced as a substitute in last year’s qualifier defeat to Limerick. London had a disappointing Allianz league, but finished with a good win over Wicklow in Wicklow. No players selected for this game featured the last time these counties met while corner forward Alan O’ Hara, from the St. Michaels club in Roscommon will be facing his home county. Full back Philip Butler and corner forward Adrian Moyles are the two London born players on the team and have come through the club scene in London to become championship regulars. Manager Paul Coggins, who is also a native of Roscommon, is missing some key players due to injury, (Greg Crowley, Tony Gaughan, Philip Galvin), while other from last year’s panel are no longer available, (Seán Kelly (Mayo), Marcus Miskelly (Down), Joe Feeney (Armagh), Paul Geraghty (Galway), Damian Dunleavy (Galway), Séamus Hannon (Longford)), will look to build on the form they showed in their final two Allianz League Games. The team in full is;

London: Declan Traynor(Tir Chonaill Gaels), Brian Collins(Tir Chonaill Gaels), Philip Butler(Tir Chonaill Gaels), David McGreevy(Kingdom Kerry Gaels), Donnacha McCarthy(Kingdom Kerry Gaels), Caoimhin Carty(Kingdom Kerry Gaels), Stephen Curran(St Kiernans), Mark Gottsche(Tir Chonaill Gaels), Martin Carroll(C)( Parnells), Scott Conroy(North London Shamrocks), Cathal Creene(St Kiernans), James Moran(St Kiernans), Alan O’ Hara(Kingdom Kerry Gaels), Lorcan Mulvey(Fulham Irish), Adrian Moyles(St Kiernans).

The Game throws-in at 3pm and will be preceded at 12:30pm by an exhibition game between the London and Warwickshire Development Squads.

Adult Tickets are on sale now from SuperValu stores and will also be available adjacent to the ground and Roscommon GAA Season Ticket Holders will receive a £10 / €10 discount off the price of Adult Tickets.

Tickets Prices
Adults £15 / €20
Students/OAPs £10
Under 16s: Free