Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Two Connacht Finals down for decision

March 3rd, 2017

Two Connacht Finals down for decision

This Saturday, March 4th, 4.30pm, St Colman’s College, Claremorris and St Attracta’s Community School, Tubbercurry will meet in the final of the Connacht GAA Post Primary Football Championship Senior A Final at the Connacht GAA Centre in Bekan. The Connnacht GAA Post Primary Hurling Championship Senior B Final is also fixed for tomorrow Saturday, at 3pm in the Beagh, with Portumna CS facing off against St. Josephs College Galway.
St Colman’s, who are coached by Vinnie Walsh and captained by midfielder Conor Diskin, are appearing in their first final since 2009, overcame Rice College Westport in the semi-final on a scoreline of 3-9 to 1-9, and have won four titles in their history, in 1970, 1977, 1981 and 2009.
St Attracta’s with Colm McGee at the helm, have never won the title, but were runners up last year and in 2014, are captained by centre back Marc Burke, will be desperate to avenge last year’s narrow defeat in the final to fellow Sligomen Summerhill College. They have reached the decider on the back of a narrow 1-10 to 0-11 victory over St Jarlath’s College, Tuam.

goes all in against Colmans John Gallagher in the semi-final of the Connacht Post-Primary Schools Senior 'A' Football Championship at Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence. Photo: © Michael Donnelly

Today’s final serves up a unique final pairing with the winners progressing to the All Ireland Semi Final of the Hogan Cup where they will meet Munster opposition(St. Brendan’s Killarney/Tralee CBS). These two schools have already met twice, this year, in the Connacht GAA Post Primary Senior A League with St. Attracta’s victorious on both occasions, the first encounter a three point win in the league section with St Attracta’s following this up with a two point win in the League Final, 2-12 to 1-13. As previously mentioned this is a most unique final, as it is the first time the Senior A Championship final that these two schools have met at this stage of the competition.

NUI, Galway Connacht GAA Post Primary Football Championship Senior A Final.

Saturday 4th March 2017

Venue: Connacht GAA Centre

Throw in: 4.30pm

St. Colman’s College, Claremorris v St. Attracta’s Community School, Tubbercurry

Referee: Eamonn O’ Grady(L)


The Keith Hayes Cup Final,promises to be an exciting encounter with the winners progressing to the All-Ireland Semi Final of the Paddy Buggy Cup, to represent Connacht in the All Ireland series, where they will play the Munster Champions, John the Baptist, from Hospital. Both Schools competed in the Senior A Group Section of the John Ryan Cup and had impressive performances in their Semi-finals in getting to today’s final. St. Joseph’s College Galway are captained by Castlegar’s Steven Coyne and will be bidding for their first title at this grade since 1978. Portumna who captured the Senior A Championship in 2012 and follow on their success from the Connacht Junior Championship win in 2016.

Connacht GAA Post Primary Keith Hayes Cup(Senior B Hurling Final)

Saturday 4th March 2017

Portumna CS v St. Josephs College Galway

Beagh 3pm

Referee: E Shaughnessey