Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Roscommon Minors Hit Five Goals in Win over Leitrim

May 31st, 2019

Roscommon Minors Hit Five Goals in Win over Leitrim

Roscommon 5-15

Leitrim 0-8

by Brían Mangan

Roscommon cruised past Leitrim tonight in the third Round of the Electric Ireland Connacht Minor Championship for their second win of the competition. It took them a while to get going, but once Aaron Oyiki goaled in the 28th minute to give them a 4 point half time lead, the flood gates broke and there was only ever going to be one winner. Aaron McDermott put another goal on a plate for Oyiki early in the second half before shortly netting a solo effort himself. Ronan Garvin got in on the act and ran 40 metres to add a goal to the three points he had already scored in the twentieth minute of the second half, as Roscommon ran riot. McDermott would add his second goal in stoppage time with a left footed rasper to leave the final score 51-5 to 0-8

Leitrim had been the better team up until the first Ros goal, with Ashley Maziya and Radek Oberwan competing well at midfield and team captain Eoin McLoughlin driving the team on from centre back. Free taker Barry McWeeney also converted some difficult kicks, but in truth there was a large gulf between the teams. Ruaidhrí Fallon, Ben O’Carroll and Adam McDermott were some of Roscommons best performers, who proved that last weeks disastrous performance against Mayo was an anomaly. In the other game played this evening, Sligo had a crucial 0-16 to 0-12 win over Mayo in Markievicz Park having trailed 0-7 to 0-1 at one stage. This means Mayo and Sligo join Galway on a win each. The competition now takes a two week break until the 14th June, when Leitrim host Sligo looking for their first win in Avantcard Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada and Galway and Mayo clash in MacHale Park.

ROSCOMMON: Cian Feely, P Gavin, C Glennon, C Lohan, S Trundle, T Shine, O Cregg, A Oyiki (2-0), J McDermott, Cathal Feely, B O’Carroll (0-2), R Fallon (0-1) R Garvin (1-3), M Purcell (0-1), A McDermott (2-4, 0-1f) SUBS S Keenan (0-2), J Harte (0-1), E Corcoran, C Regan (0-2), E McManus, J Downey

LEITRIM: C Flood, E Shanley, S Harte, K Clancy, C Singleton, E McLoughlin, J Honeyman, A Maziya, R Oberwan, F McLoughlin (0-1), J Hughes, D Duignan, J Clinton, S Mallon, B McWeeney (0-6fs) SUBS N Gallagher, D Fallon, S O’Brien, O Curley