Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Impressive Victory for Mayo Minors over Leitrim

May 2nd, 2018

Impressive Victory for Mayo Minors over Leitrim

Connacht Minor Championship Round 1

MAYO 4-20


by Brían Mangan

Mayo had a comfortable win over Leitrim tonight in the first game of the Connacht Minor Championship in MacHale Park, finishing up 4-20 to 1-8 victors. Mayo led 2-8 to 0-4 at half time after a fine display of attacking football, with Leitrim competing ferociously and if anything shading things in the possession stakes.

Mayo had two goals each from captain Enda Hession and Fionnan Ryan, with each strike better than the one that came before it. Daniel Maguire raised a green flag for Leitrim early in the second half as they rallied to close the deficit to 5 points in this period. Mayo reestablished their dominance soon after this however, and some of the long range point taking and tenacious defending by them was as good as you would see in any game, meaning they will be delighted with their evenings work.

Next up for Mayo is Roscommon in the Hyde on the 11th of May, with Leitrim having to wait for a home match with Roscommon in Round 3 on the 23rd of June for their next outing as the competition takes a break for exams. For a full fixture list for the Connacht Minor Championship, click here

Mayo: R Connolly, S Holmes, E McHale, A Cosgrave, R Keane, L Óg Horkan, C Dunleavy (0-1), J Carney (0-2), H Burke (0-2), F Irwin, U O’Reilly, L Traynor (0-4), M Ball (0-5), F Ryan (2-1), E Hession (2-4, 1-2fs) (c) SUBS: L F Sweeney, E Ivers, C Mylett (0-1), E Henry

Leitrim: M Earley, T McKeon, E McLoughlin, P McKenna, N Keegan, J Flynn, O Niblock, P Keaney, D O’Connell (0-1), D Kelleher (0-1), J Quinn (0-3fs), S Mallon (0-1), D Maguire (1-0), T Prior, O Bohan (0-1fs) SUBS: C Clancy (0-1), F Davitt