Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Connacht GAA Bursary Awards

January 8th, 2015

Connacht GAA Bursary Awards

A record number of third level students have been awarded by the Connacht GAA in their annual student bursary awards at a ceremony which took place in the Connacht GAA Centre this evening, (Saturday 3rd January).

The bursary scheme has been in place for eight years and awards members of the association who are active members in their higher education club. A record number of 40 promising young Connacht GAA players and administrators have been included in the province’s annual bursary scheme. All five Connacht counties are represented in the initiative which provides financial assistance to students who have displayed potential and commitment on the Gaelic games front.
“The purpose of this bursary scheme is to honour young people who have excelled in the GAA,” said Connacht Council games manager John Tobin. “This year we have selected 40 outstanding people, all of whom will contribute to the GAA club and life in their colleges, while also young administrators who are involved in their college as team trainers, club officers, and in other crucial roles.”

Seamus O’ Grady, Chairman of the provincial Third Level Committee and delegate to the National Third Level Committee, thanked the council for the provision of the Bursary Scheme as it acknowledged the enormous work carried out by students in promoting Gaelic games in the third level sector.

President of the Comhairle Connacht, Frank Burke, paid tribute to the parents and guardians of these recipients with supporting these young people with both their academic and sporting lives. He complimented the recipients on their achievements to date however he maintained that it was important that young people should strive for a balance with both their studies and sport. He acknowledged the role of the third level Games officers and the various volunteers, both student and staff, in their promotion of Gaelic games in the third level sector.

The list of recipients are as follows:

Name County College
Ailbhe Clancy-Leitrim(DCU)
Barry Keane-Galway(UL)
Cathal Reilly-Galway(GMIT Mountbellew)
Cian Brehony-Sligo (DCU)
Ciana Ni Churraoin-Galway (UL)
Conor Gorman-Sligo (Letterkenny IT)
Conor Hussey-Roscommon (UL)
Conor Whelan-Galway (MICL)
David Cunnane-Galway (NUI, Galway)
Deirdre Doherty-Mayo (Coventry Uni/Leicester Uni)
Edward Doran-Mayo (DCU)
Eoin McDonagh-Sligo (NUI Maynooth)
Feilim McHugh-Leitrim (UL)
Fergal Durkan-Mayo (GMIT)
Fintan O’ Cuanaigh-Galway (UL)
Ian Burke-Galway (UL)
Jamie Holland-Galway (GMIT Letterfrack)
John Kelly-Sligo (NUI, Galway)
Keelan McHugh-Leitrim (UCD)
Kevin McHugo-Galway (NUI, Galway)
Kieran Kilcline-Roscommon (Athlone IT)
Matthew Redington-Galway (UL)
Michael Gunning-Roscommon (Carlow IT)
Niall Keary-Galway (GMIT)
Patrick Durcan-Mayo (DCU)
Paul Mannion-Galway (NUI, Galway)
Peter Cooke-Galway (NUI, Galway)
Raymond Connolly-Sligo (IT Sligo)
Ronan Bellew-Galway (NUI, Galway)
Ronan Daly-Roscommon (St Pats Drumcondra)
Sean Conlon-Mayo (UCD)
Shane Ryan-Leitrim (Northumbria Uni)
Siobhan Coen-Galway (NUI, Galway)
Stephen Brennan-Mayo (NUI, Galway)
Stephen Roche-Galway (UL)
Stephen Whelan-Galway (NUI, Galway)
Steven Kilcoyne-Sligo (UCD)
Sylvie Linnane-Galway(UL)
Tara Doddy Sligo (NUI, Maynooth)
Vincent Doyle Galway (UCD)