Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Connacht GAA Student Bursary Awards 2018

January 13th, 2018

Connacht GAA Student Bursary Awards 2018

Students from the third level sector were acknowledged tonight by the Connacht GAA in their annual student bursary awards at a ceremony which took place in the Connacht GAA Centre this evening, (Saturday 13th January).

The bursary scheme has been in place for eleven years and awards members of the association who are active members in their higher education club. In all 33 promising young Connacht GAA players and administrators have been included in the province’s annual bursary scheme. All five Connacht counties are represented in the initiative which provides financial assistance to students who have displayed potential and commitment on the Gaelic games front.

“The purpose of this bursary scheme is to honour young people who have excelled in the GAA,” said Connacht GAA Council Games manager John Tobin. “This year we have selected 32 outstanding people, all of whom will contribute to the GAA club and life in their colleges, while also young administrators who are involved in their college as team trainers, club officers, and in other crucial roles.”

Enda Fallon, Chairman of the provincial Third Level Committee and delegate to the National Third Level Committee, thanked the council for the provision of the Bursary Scheme as it acknowledged the enormous work carried out by students in promoting Gaelic games in the third level sector.

President of the Comhairle Connacht, Mick Rock, paid tribute to the parents and guardians of these recipients in supporting these young people with both their academic and sporting lives. He complimented the recipients on their achievements to date however he maintained that it was important that young people should strive for a balance with both their studies and sport. He acknowledged the role of the third level Games officers and the various volunteers, both student and staff, in their promotion of Gaelic games in the third level sector.


The list of recipients are as follows;


College Name Code Club County
GMIT Aaron Brady Football Elphin Roscommon
DCU Adrian Cummins Football Calry St Josephs Sligo
NUI, Galway Aoife Donohue Camogie Mullagh Galway
MICL Barry Goldrick Football Claregalway Galway
IT Sligo Bryan Walsh Football Ballintaubber Mayo
Athlone IT Cathal Jordan Football St. Johns Sligo
NUI, Galway Conor Caulfield Hurling Kilconieron Galway
NUI, Galway Conor Cosgrove Hurling Ardrahan Galway
NUI, Galway Conor Fahey Dual Padraig Pearses Galway
Athlone IT Cormac Haslam Football Glenamaddy Galway
NUI, Galway Darragh Burke Hurling St. Thomas’ Galway
St Pats (DCU) Darren Maxwell Football Sean O’ Heslins Leitrim
UCD Eoghan Keegan Football Cloone Leitrim
University of Limerick Fiona McHale Ladies Football Carnacon Mayo
St. Pat’s Drumcondra Fiona Tully Ladies Football St Colmans Handball Roscommon
GMIT Jack Reilly Football Charlestown Sarsfields Mayo
Maynooth University Jimmy Donoghue Football/Refereeing Tulsk Lord Edwards Roscommon
UU Coleraine Kevin O Halloran Hurling Craughwell Galway
NUI, Galway Kieran Forde Handball Annaghdown Galway
University of Limerick Martin Mc Manus Hurling Loughrea Galway
GMIT Matthew Flanagan Football Balla Mayo
NUI, Galway Nathan O Rourke Football Fenagh St Caillins Leitrim
DCU Nathan Rooney Football St Marys Sligo
UCD Patrick Foley Hurling Clarinbridge Galway
GMIT Letterfrack Richard Thompson Football St Croans Roscommon
DCU Riordan O Rourke Football Fenagh St Caillins Leitrim
GMIT Rochelle Mullaney Ladies Football Kilbride Roscommon
University of Limerick Ryan O’ Donoghue Football Belmullet Mayo
UCD Sean Power Football Drumcliffe Rossespoint Sligo
NUI, Galway Shane Bannon Hurling Clarinbridge Galway
NUI, Galway Shane Dowd Football Creggs Roscommon
GMIT Shauna Burke Camogie Craughwell Galway
NUI, Galway William Finnerty Football Salthill Knocknacarra Galway