Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship

March 12th, 2015

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship
Quarter Final
Mayo 4-7 Leitrim 0-8
Elvery’s MacHale Park

Mayo defeated Leitrim in the opening game of the EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship thus setting up a semi final meeting with Galway.
Mayo led at the break by 1-04 to 0-5 with the goal coming from corner back Michael Hall. They added further goals in the second half from Diarmuid O’ Connor, Matthew Ruane and captain Adam Gallagher giving them an eleven point victory.
Mayo now advance to meet Galway in the provincial semi-final on Saturday 21st March at 5pm in Elvery’s MacHale Park.
After the game Connacht GAA President Mick Rock presented the Man of the Match award to Mayo’s No 2, Michael Hall from the Breaffy Club.

Scorers for Mayo:
Adam Gallagher and Michael Hall 1-1 each, Diarmuid O’Connor and Matthew Ruane 1-0 each, Matthew Flanagan 0-2 (0-2 45), James Durcan, Darren McHale, and Stephen Coen 0- 1 each.
Scorers for Leitrim: Conor Gaffney 0-4 (0-3f), Nicholas Moore, Donal Wynn, Gary Plunkett and Mark Plunkett 0-1 each.

1. Matthew Flanagan (Balla) 2. Michael Hall (Breaffy) 3. David Kenny (Aghamore) 4. James Stretton (Claremorris) 5. Sean Regan (Ballina Stephenites) 6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore) 7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels) 8. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber) 9. T.J. Byrne (Kiltimagh) 10. Val Roughneen (Balla) 11. Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels) 12. Darren McHale (Knockmore) 13. Cian Burke (Ballymun Kickhams) 14. Brian Reape (Moy Davitts) 15. James Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
Subs:  22. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina) for Reape (40) 20. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy) for Byrne (43) 23. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber) for McHale (51) 21. Morgan Lyons (Ballyhaunis) for O’Connor (52) 17. Kevin Lynch (Mayo Gaels) for P Durcan (54) 24. Stephen Conroy (The Neale) for J Durcan (60)

1. Brendan Flynn (St. Mary’s Kiltoghert) 2. James Mitchell (Mohill) 3. Gary Butler (Fenagh-St. Caillin’s) 4. Keelan McHugh (Ballinamore-Sean O Heslin’s) 5. Oisin Madden (Mohill) 6. Nicholas Moore (Allen Gaels) 7. Jack De Lacy (St. Mary’s Kiltoghert) 8. Donal Wynn (Fenagh-St. Caillin’s) 9. Felim McHugh (Drumkeerin) 10. James Rooney (Glencar/Manorhamilton) 11. Mark Plunkett (Aughawillan) 12. Daire Farrell (St. Mary’s Kiltoghert) 13. Gary Plunkett (Aughawillan) 14. Dean McGovern (Ballinamore-Sean O Heslin’s) 15. Conor Gaffney (Drumreilly)
Subs 22. Niall Brady (Glencar/Manorhamilton) for Wynn (Black card) (36) 21. Kenny Cox (Annaduff) for McGovern (39) 17. Michael Clancy (St. Patrick’s Dromahair) for Butler (49) 20. Kevin Shanley (Bornacoola) for Madden (50) 23. Declan Daly (Drumkeerin) for Farrell (53)

Referee: John Gilmartin (Sligo)