Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Galway face Roscommon in Kiltoom

January 27th, 2017

Galway face Roscommon in Kiltoom

Connacht GAA Championship Senior Football Final Galway 0-13 Roscommon 1-08 PearseStadium 10th July 2016 Referee Conor Lane (Cork)

The first Connacht GAA trophy of the year is up for grabs on Sunday when Galway defend their FBD title against a Roscommon team they defeated in last year’s final, 2-8 to 0-13. Both sides would meet again in the Connacht Senior Football Championship final with the Tribesmen again emerging victorious after a replay victory over the near neighbours. These two counties have met each other at this stage of the competition in the last two finals with each county getting a victory each and both will be hoping for a victory and performance in advance of their Allianz League campaigns. In all Galway and Roscommon have faced off against each other in six finals with Galway edging their final meetings with four victories, (2016, 2009, 2001, 1998). Roscommon have captured the FBD Trophy on three previous occasions, their first success in 1997. Galway are tied with Mayo on titles won with seven, their first in 1998, over Roscommon.

With the Allianz league throwing in on the following weekend, both sets of players will be eager to impress. Roscommon have to travel to Tyrone in their first Allianz League fixture, whereas Galway will host Cork in Pearse Stadium, (both games on Sunday 5th February at 2pm). Sunday’s encounter throws in at 2pm at the St. Brigid’s ground in Kiltoom.

Roscommon have named their starting squad for Sunday’s game, it shows a number of changes from Last Sunday’s win over Mayo.

1. Darren O’Malley(Michael Glaveys), 2.  Sean McDermott(Western Gaels) 3. Tom Featherston(Oran), 4.  Niall McInerney(St Brigids) 5. Ronan Stack(St Brigids) 6. Sean Mullooly(Strokestown) 7. John McManus(Roscommon Gaels) 8. Tom Corcoran(Strokestown) 9. Tadgh O’Rourke(Tulsk) 10. Fintan Cregg(Elphin) 11. Ciaráin Murtagh (Captain) (St Faithleach’s) 12. Shane Killoran(Elphin) 13. Cian Connolly(Roscommon Gaels) 14. Ultan Harney(Clann na nGael) 15. Donie Smith(Boyle)

Substitutes: 16. Colm Lavin(Éire Óg), 17. Kevin Higgins(Western Gaels), 18. Enda Smith(Boyle), 19. Niall Kilroy(Fuerty), 20. Niall Daly(Padraig Pearses), 21. Gary Patterson(Michael Glaveys), 22. David Murray(Padraig Pearses), 23. Conor Devaney(Kilbride)


FBD Insurance Connacht GAA Senior League Football


Sunday 29th January 2017

Roscommon v Galway

Throw in: 2pm

Venue: St. Brigids, Kiltoom

Referee: L. Devenney(M)


General Admission €10 Concession €5(with appropriate ID)