Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Galway march on and Mayo capture Junior Title

May 18th, 2015

Galway march on and Mayo capture Junior Title

Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship

Quarter Final:

Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada

Leitrim 0-8 Galway 1-13

Galway March on to the Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship Semi Final following their victory over Leitrim. Galway’s Paul Conroy at midfield for Galway was influential throughout finishing off with six points, and a first half goal from powerful full forward Damien Comer certainly aided Galway who limited their opponents to just two points in the second half. Galway now meet Mayo in the provincial semi-final on the 14th June in Pearse Stadium.

Scorers for Leitrim: K Conlan 0-3 (2 ’45s’, 1f), S McWeeney 0-2, R Kennedy 0-1, F Clancy 0-1, P McGowan 0-1

Scorers for Galway: P Conroy 0-6 (5f), D Comer 1-1, D Cummins 0-2, M Lundy 0-1, P Óg Gríofa 0-1 (1f), G O’Donnell 0-1, P Sweeney 0-1

Leitrim: C McCrann; M Murphy, R Gallagher, N Woods; S McWeeney, G Reynolds, T Mulvey; D Sweeney, S Moran; D Beck, F Clancy, K Conlan; R Kennedy, J McGrail, D Wrynn. Subs: C Gilheaney for McGrail (40), J Connolly for Mulvey (51), P McGowan for Moran (54), B Prior for Murphy (55), S Quinn for Wrynn (64), A McLoughlin for Beck (67)

Galway: B O’Donoghue; J Duane, F Hanley, C Sweeney; L Silke, G O’Donnell, S Denvir; F Ó’Curraoín, P Conroy; G Sice, S Walsh, M Lundy; P Óg Ó’Gríofa, D Cummins, D Comer. Subs: P Sweeney for Walsh (52), T Flynn for Ó’Curraoín (62), A Varley for Cummins (65), M Martin for Ó’Gríofa (67), D Kyne for Sweeney (70+2), G Bradshaw for Denvir (70+2)

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)

Mayo v Galway Jun

Connacht GAA Junior Football Championship Final

Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada

Mayo 1-12 Galway 0-13

Mayo captured their first Connacht GAA Junior Championship since 2012 in defeating Galway by two points. A goal from Andrew Farrell in the first half ultimately proved decisive, with Damien McGing’s free taking also to the fore as they held off a late rally from Galway which included a missed opportunity from Whelehan whose effort came back off the crossbar. Mayo now progress to meet the British Champions in the All Ireland semi-final on the 25th July.

Scorers for Mayo: A Farrell 1-2 (1 ‘45’), D McGing 0-4 (4 frees), D McHugh, M Forde (free), D Durcan, D Joyce, C Horan, S Gaughan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: P Whelehan 0-4 (2 frees), P Cooke (frees), E Tierney 0-3 each, P E Seoighe, M Reddington, R Fahy 0-1 each.

Mayo: B Forkan; P Barrett, B Moran, B Leonard; E O’Donoghue, D McHugh, M Barrett; P Collins, P Feerick; D Durcan, B Carr, G Conway; D Joyce, A Farrell, D McGing,

Subs: S Gaughan for Conway (23), C Horan for Barrett (29), A Gallagher for Durcan (36), M Forde for McGing (42), J Keane for O’Donoghue (55), K Newell for Horan (60).

Galway: M Dolan; A Claffey, A Kyne, C Ó Domhnaill; P E Seoighe, J Shaughnessy, J Heaney; E Tierney, E Commins; M Redington, P Cooke, R Fahy; C Kennedy, P Whelehan, A Hernon.

Subs: M Day for Ó Domhnaill (23), N Walsh for Fahy (h-t), F Cooney for Reddington (39), M Fox for Kennedy (50), T Mullins for Commins (53).

Referee: Paul Daly (Roscommon).