Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Galway Minors capture provincial title

July 25th, 2015

Galway Minors capture provincial title

Electric Ireland Connacht GAA Minor Football Championship

Final- Replay

Galway 4-12 Sligo 1-8

Tuam Stadium

Galway captured their twenty fifth Connacht GAA Minor title with this thirteen point victory over Sligo in the replay of the Electric Ireland Connacht GAA Minor Football Championship Final.

Sligo had started the game well by taking the first two points through Nathan Rooney and Kyle Cawley however once Galway had calibrated their shooting boots they kicked the next five scores, all points to leave them ahead 0-5 to 0-2. Sligo responded with a goal from Cathal Herron to level the tie in the fifteenth minute however Galway responded with goals from Paudie McCormack and Finnian O’ Laoi and a further four points to leave them 2-9 to 1-3 ahead at half time.

Galway were in control throughout the second half and added further goals from Sean Kelly and Desmond Connolly to see them ease to a 4-12 to 1-8 victory.

Galway now progress to play Tipperary in the All Ireland Quarter Finals with Sligo meeting Munster Champions Kerry. These games are scheduled to be played on the Bank holiday weekend.

After the game Dr. Mick Loftus, patron of Comhairle Connacht, presented the Kilcoynce cup to Galway Captain, Michael Boyle.

Galway Captain trophy

Scorers for Galway: P McCormack 1-2 (1f), S Kelly 1-1, C McDaid 0-3 (2f), F Ó Laoi 1-0, D Connelly 1-0, J Daly 0-2 (1f), E Lee 0-1 (1 ’45), C Marsden 0-1 (1f), C Ryan 0-1, C Brady 0-1.

Scorers for Sligo: C Herron 1-0, L Gaughan 0-3 (2f), F Cawley 0-2 (1f), N Rooney 0-1 (1f), K Cawley 0-1, A McLoughlin 0-1.

Galway-Ronan Ó Beolain (Micheal Breathnach), Ian Kent (Bearna), Dylan McHugh (Corofin), Caelom Mulry (Monivea Abbey), Sean Kelly (Moycullen), Liam Ó Cellaigh (An Spideal), John Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough), Colm Ó Braonáin (Oileain Arainn), Cillian McDaid (Monivea Abbey), Eric Lee (Oughterard), Finnian Ó Laoi (An Spideal), Ciaran Brady (Corofin), Ryan Forde (Annaghdown), Paudie McCormack (An Cheathru Rua), Michael Boyle (Killererin)

Subs: Conor Marsden (Kilconly) for Forde (HT), Colin Ryan (Mountbellew/Moylough) for McDaid (39), Patrick Ó Domhnaill (Óileann Arainn) for McCormack (49), Barry Goldrick (Claregalway) for Kent (57), Desmond Connolly (Moycullen) for Ó Braonain (58)

Sligo-Conor McGovern (Calry/St Joseph’s), Oisin Gilmartin (St Michael’s), Eddie McGuinness (Tubbercurry), Mark O’Dowd (Enniscrone/Kilglass), Nathan Mullen (Coolaney/Mullinabreena), Finnian Cawley (St Farnan’s), Sean Power (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point), Darragh Cummins (Calry/St Joseph’s), Paul Kilcoyne (St Mary’s), Liam Gaughan (Tourlestrane), Nathan Rooney (St Mary’s), Cathal Herron (St Molaise Gaels), Kyle Cawley (St Mary’s), Patrick O’Connor (St Farnan’s), Michael Gordon (Easkey)

Subs: Aaron Kearns (Curry) for Gordon (7-9 blood), Sean Carrabine (Castleconnor) for Gilmartin (39) Rian Kennedy (Tourlestrane) for Herron (47), Alan McLoughlin (St Molaise Gaels) for O’Connor (58), Kevin Banks for (Coolera/Strandhill) for Cummins (60 BC)

Referee: Declan Corcoran (Mayo)

Galway’s Ciaran Brady from Corofin was selected as Man of the match on the evening, he was presented with his award by Kevin Molloy, Electric Ireland

Man of the match1