Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Leitrim and Galway teams for the Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship Quarter Final.

May 14th, 2015

Leitrim and Galway teams for the Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship Quarter Final.

Leitrim and Galway teams for the Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship Quarter Final.

Leitrim have announced their team to play Galway in their championship Quarter Final. The team shows two changes from the team that started their last Allianz League game against Waterford, (Leitrim 0-15 Waterford 0-10), with Darren Sweeney and Donal Wrynn coming into the team. The team has five championship debuts in Matthew Murphy, Niall Woods, Thomas Mulvey, Ronan Kennedy and James McGrail. However when the team is compared to the starting team in their last championship game in last years All Ireland qualifiers(vs Down), there are ten changes to the team. Leitrim’s Allianz league campaign saw them finish with three wins, defeating London, Carlow and Waterford and two draws with Longford and Offaly. Manager Shane Ward will be hoping for a similar result to the last time he faced the tribesmen in Pairc Sean, when his Leitrim team defeated Galway in the Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship on a score line of 0-9 to 0-8.

Leitrim: Cathal McCrann(Gortletteragh), Matthew Murphy(Ballinamore/Sean O Heslins), Ronan Gallagher(Mohill), Niall Woods(Gortletteragh), Sean McWeeney(C)(Aughnasheelin), Gary Reynolds(Carrigallen), Thomas Mulvey(Allen Gaels), Darren Sweeney(Glencar/Manorhamilton), Shane Moran(Ballinamore/Sean O Heslins), Danny Beck(Mohill), Donal Wrynn(Fenagh/St. Caillins), Kevin Conlan(Dromahair), Ronan Kennedy(Mohill), James McGrail(St. Marys), Fergal Clancy(Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher).

Galway make two changes from the team that started against New York. Michael Lundy(Corofin) who replaces Eddie Hoare in the Half forward line and Brian Donoghue return to team, both players were ruled out from starting against New York due to a stomach virus. Galway, who had a 2-18 to 0-8 win over New York in their championship opener, will be facing Leitrim in the Connacht GAA Championship for the first time since their encounter in Pearse Stadium in 2008, a game Galway won on a scoreline of 2-14 to 1-13. Paul Conroy(St. James), who captains the team from midfield, as well as Gary Sice and Finian Hanley are the only survivors from that game, although Gareth Bradshaw started in 2008, but doesn’t start this game due to injury.

Galway: B. Donoghue(Claregalway), J Duane(St. James), F Hanley(Salthill/Knocknacarra), C Sweeney(Killanin), L Silke(Corofin), G O’Donnell(Tuam Stars), S Denvir(Ml. Breathnachs), F Ó Curraoin(Ml. Breathnachs), P Conroy(St. James), G Sice(Corofin), S Walsh(Kilkerrin-Clonberne), M Lundy(Corofin), P Ó Gríofa(Ml. Breathnachs), D Comer(Annaghdown), D Cummins(Claregalway).


Sunday 17th May 2015

Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada

Quarter-Final: Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship

3.30pm: Leitrim v Galway

Final: Connacht GAA Junior Football Championship

1.30pm: Mayo v Galway*

*Extra time to be played in the event of a draw