Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

M.Donnelly Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League – Round 3

August 22nd, 2019

M.Donnelly Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League – Round 3

M.Donnelly Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League – Round 3

Davitt College Castlebar in County Mayo plays host to the third round of the M.Donnelly GAA Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League on Saturday 24th August. It will be the second
time that an All-Ireland Wheelchair Hurling event will be hosted in Co. Mayo, having been previously hosted in Breaffy in 2015. The Connacht GAA Games for all Committee under the chairmanship of Mattie Kilroy will be responsible for co-ordinating this Wheelchair Hurling Interprovincial event in Castlebar.

Connacht GAA Council are sponsors of this event which sees teams and players travelling from Ulster, Munster and Leinster as well as Connacht, competing for Provincial honours.
The Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League and Championships were formed in 2013 and provide a competitive sporting environment for wheelchair users. The competition has gone from strength to strength in the past four seasons with the Provincial Councils providing the platform for the players to compete.

This is the third round of the League with the fourth round of the league scheduled for Saturday 14th September, St. Mary’s Sec School, Newport, Co. Tipperary, and the Competition finals to be played in the National Indoor Arena on Monday 28th October.

Last years Championship winners were Leinster, who defeated the Ulster in the Championship finals, which were played in IT Sligo. It was Leinster’s third success in the competition.

Admission is free and all are welcome to attend. The Connacht GAA Wheelchair Hurling team are hoping for strong home support to help them in their quest to attain Championship success.

The Connacht Squad is:

Liam Boyle (Mayo)

Pat Carty (Sligo)

Shane Curren (Galway)

Aidan Hynes (Sligo)

Peter Egan (Mayo)

Steven Melvin (Sligo)

Sarah Cregg (Roscommon)

Thomas Fleming (Mayo)

Coaches: Adrian Hession, Tim Hynes, Tháigh Morley