Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Match Preview Galway v Leitrim

March 10th, 2017

Match Preview Galway v Leitrim

Galway -v- Leitrim

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship 2017

Tuam Stadium, 3pm March 11th

The Eirgrid Connacht U21 Football Championship begins this Saturday the 11th of March at 3pm in Tuam Stadium, with Galway hosting Leitrim in the preliminary round. This will be the last year the U21 grade will be played, as congress voted in 2016 to abolish both the minor and U21 grades in favour of an U17 and u20 Competitions. From 2018 onwards the U20 competition will take place during the summer months, with all players involved precluded from senior inter county action that year.

Saturday will be the first time the two sides have met at U21 since 2014, where a stirring comeback saw Leitrim dethrone All Ireland champions Galway on a score line of 0-9 to 0-8. The counties have met in three Connacht finals at this age group, Galway having been on the winning side twice and Leitrim once. In 1990 Galway came out on top on a score of 0-9 to 0-5, but in 1991 Leitrim had their revenge, winning the second U21 Connacht Championship in their history and their first since 1977 with a 1-7 to 0-9 point victory. 1998 was the last U21 Connacht final the two teams met in, Galway coming home with the trophy on a score of 0-13 to 1-7, despite having two players sent off in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Managing Galway is Gerry Fahy, supported by his backroom team of Timmy Rabbitte, Ciaráin Ó’Fatharta, Tomás Mannion and Barry Cullinane. Starting in the game will be two of the players who were beaten by Kerry in last years All Ireland Minor Final, corner forwards Robert Finnerty and Dessie Conneely making the step up to the U21 team for 2017. Of this panel, midfielders Peter Cooke and Cillian McDaid and centre forward Micheál Ó’ Dalaigh have minutes under their belts for the seniors this season in the Allianz league.

This Leitrim side will feature a number of players who have tasted Allianz league action with the senior team already this season. Centre back Dean Mcgovern, wing back Oisin Madden, midfielder Mark Plunkett, wing forward Jack Heslin, centre forward Ryan O’Rourke and full forward Keith Beirne have all featured regularly for the senior side team season. Manager Brendan Guckian and his backroom team of Enda Lyons, John O’Mahony and Seamus Quinn will be hoping these players in particular can lead to a strong showing against the Tribesmen.

The Leitrim starting fifteen for Saturday’s game:

1.Jack Burke    (Naomh Pádraig-Droim Dá Eithear) 2.James Mitchell    (Maothail) 3.Brian Leyden   (Seán Uí Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir) 4.Liam Ryan   (Gaeil na Meilge) 5.Donal Feely   (Seán Uí Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir) 6.Dean McGovern   (Seán Uí Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir) 7.Oisin Madden   (Maothail) 8.Keith Keegan   (Maothail) 9.Mark Plunkett (captain)   (Achadh an Mhuilinn) 10.Jack Heslin   (Gortleitreach) 11.Ryan O’Rourke   (Nomh Caillian-Fionach) 12.Conor Dolan   (Gleann an Chairthe/Cluainin) 11.Robbie Cunningham   (Naomh Pádraig-Droim Dá Eithear)12.Keith Beirne   (Maothail) 13.Conor Gaffney   (Droim Óir Bhéalaigh) 14.Darren Maxwell   (Seán Uí Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir) 15.Niall McGovern   (Seán Uí Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir)

The Galway starting fifteen for Saturday’s game:

1.Ronán Ó, Beoláin   (Micheál Breathnach) 2.Liam Kelly   (An Spideal) 3.Dylan McHugh   (Corafinne) 4.Rory Greene   (Cill Ainnin) 5.Seán Ó’ Ceallaigh   (Maigh Cuilinn) 6.Seán Andy Ó’ Ceallaigh   (Leitir Mór) 7.Kieran Molloy   (Corafinne) 8.Peter Cooke   (Maigh Cuilinn) 9.Cillian McDaid   (Muine Mheá/Mainistir) 10.Colin Brady   (Corafinne) 11.Micheál Ó’ Dalaigh   (An Creagán/Magh Locha) 12.Paul Mannion   (Cill Chonla) 13.Robert Finnerty   (Bóthar an Trá/Cnoc na Cathrach) 14.Eoin Finnerty   (An Creagán/Magh Locha) 15.Dessie Conneely   (Maigh Cuilinn)

EirGrid Connacht GAA U21 Football Championship 2017

Preliminary Round

Galway v Leitrim

Tuam Stadium

Throw in 3pm

Referee P Neilan (Roscommon)

The curtain raiser to this game will be the Connacht Minor Football League game between Galway and Leitrim also. Throwing in at 1pm. Elsewhere in the Connacht Minor League on the same day, Mayo face Roscommon at Ballinlough, throwing in at 4pm.