Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Mayo and Galway teams announced ahead of their semi-final clash

June 16th, 2016

Mayo and Galway teams announced ahead of their semi-final clash

Mayo and Galway have announced their starting teams ahead of their clash on Saturday evening in MacHale Park. The Mayo team shows one change from team that started against London, Tom Parsons returns to the team ahead of Stephen Coen. In all nine players that lined out against Galway in their semi-final clash last year take to the field in this years fixture. Mayo will be bidding to reach their sixth Connacht Championship final in a row and also to be the first team in the province to capture six Connacht GAA Senior Football Championships in a row.

Mayo: 1. Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy), 2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore) 3. Kevin Keane (Westport), 4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis), 5. Lee Keegan (Westport), 6. Colm Boyle (Davitts), 7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), 8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown), 9. Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber), 10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), 11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), 12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole), 13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites), 14. Cillian O’Connor, Captain, (Ballintubber), 15. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy).

The Galway team announced on Tuesday evening has five championship debutants, Bernard Power in Goals, corner backs Eoghan Kerin and David Wynne and Johnny Heaney at half forward and Eamonn Brannigan in the full forward line. Just seven players remain from the team that started against Mayo in last years Connacht Clash. Galway have not beaten Mayo in the Connacht Championship since 2008 when they defeated their near neighbours in the Connacht Final.

Galway: 1. Bernard Power (Corofin), 2. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown), 3. Declan Kyne (Clonbur), 4. David Wynne (Maigh Cuilinn), 5. Liam Silke (Corofin), 6. Gary O Donnell, Captain, (Tuam Stars), 7. Gareth Bradshaw (Maigh Cuilinn), 8. Paul Conroy (St. James’), 9 Thomas Flynn (Athenry), 10. Gary Sice (Corofin), 11. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne), 12. Johnny Heaney (Killannin), 13. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michaels), 14. Damien Comer (Annaghdown), 15. Danny Cummins (Claregalway).


Saturday 18th June 2016

MacHale Park, Castlebar

Semi-Final: Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship

7pm: Mayo v Galway