Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Galway and Mayo teams named ahead of Western showdown

June 12th, 2015

Galway and Mayo teams named ahead of Western showdown

The Galway side shows three changes to the team that started against Leitrim. Manus Breathnach starts in goal ahead of Brian Donoghue, Tom Flynn gets the nod in the half forward following an injury lay off, and there is a first championship start for Patrick Sweeney where he will wear the number eleven jersey. The players to lose out in the forward line are Peadar O Griofa and Shane Walsh. The team also shows a positional change for Corofin player Michael Lundy as he goes from the half forward line to starting at right corner forward. Galway will be hoping to build on their two championship victories to date and look to reverse a four game run of defeats to Mayo. Galway last defeated Mayo in 2008 when they also last captured a Connacht title. The Galway team in full is;

Galway: Manus Breathnach(An Spideal); J Duane(St. James), F Hanley(Salthill/Knocknacarra), C Sweeney(Killannin); L Silke(Corofin), G O’Donnell(Tuam Stars), S Denvir(Ml. Breathnachs); F Ó’Curraoín(Ml. Breathnachs), P Conroy(St. James); G Sice(Corofin), P. Sweeney(Killannin), T. Flynn(Athenry); D Cummins(Claregalway), D Comer(Annaghdown), M. Lundy(Corofin).

From Belmullet to Ballindine, David Clarke Chris Barrett, Kevin Keane, Tom Parsons, and Cillian O’ Connor starting, and Donal Vaughan and Ger Cafferkey missing out, will be the major talking points around the Mayo team announced. Clarke is making his first return to the team since 2013 where he will replace Rob Hennelly who had replaced him. Following a long injury lay off where he missed out on the Allianz League, Chris Barrett returns to the team where he will line out in the full back line with team captain Keith Higgins and Kevin Keane who is getting the nod ahead of Ger Cafferkey. Tom Cunniffe will now anchor the defence at Centre back, where he will have Tom Parsons partnering Breaffy’s Seamus O’ Shea in front of him at midfield. Aidan O’ Shea lines out in the half forward line with Diarmuid O’ Connor and Kevin McLoughlin starting either side of him. The Mayo full forward line sees a return following injury for Cillian O’ Connor where he will line out at the edge of the square, with Jason Doherty and team veteran Andy Moran completing the line. The Mayo team announced shows 6 changes from their last league game and 5 changes from their last championship game, the defeat to Kerry. Mayo have not played a competitive game since their Allianz league encounter with Donegal on the 5th April, a game they drew, which resulted in them narrowly missing out on the play offs for the League. The Mayo team announced is;

Connacht Senior Football Championship Final 13 July 2014 MacHale Park, Mayo 3-14 – Galway 0-16 Referee: R Hickey (Clare) Mayo Scores: C O’Connor (0-08, 5fs), J Doherty, L Keegan (1-01 each), B Moran (1-00), K McLoughlin (0-03), A Dillon (0-01); Galway Scorers: S Walsh (0-07, 5fs), P Conroy (0-04), S Armstrong (0-02), G Bradshaw, M Lundy, D Cummins (0-01 each)

Mayo: David Clarke(Ballina Stephenites); Chris Barrett(Belmullet), Kevin Keane(Westport), Keith Higgins(Ballyhaunis), Lee Keegan(Westport), Tom Cunniffe(Castlebar Mitchels), Colm Boyle(Davitts), Seamus O’ Shea(Breaffy), Tom Parsons(Charlestown), Diarmuid O’ Connor(Ballintubber), Aidan O’ Shea(Breaffy), Kevin McLoughlin(Knockmore), Andy Moran(Ballaghaderreen), Cillian O’ Connor(Ballintubber), Jason Doherty(Burrishoole).

The Galway team is to be announced this evening at 9pm following training.

All those intending on travelling on Sunday are advised to purchase their tickets in advance, click on the following for ticket details

Sunday 14th June 2015

Christy Ring Cup Promotion / Relegation Play Off

Roscommon v Mayo               1.45pm

Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship Semi-Final

Galway vs. Mayo                     4pm