Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Post Primary School Championships for St Nathy’s and Coláiste Chiaráin Athlone

February 24th, 2018

Post Primary School Championships for St Nathy’s and Coláiste Chiaráin Athlone

Connacht GAA Post Primary Schools B Final

St Nathy’s College 2-12 Scoil Mhuire Strokestown 1-13

Connacht GAA Post Primary Schools C Final

Coláiste Chiaráin Athlone 1-17 St Paul’s Oughterard 2-10

After two dramatic Connacht GAA Post Primary Schools Finals today at the Connacht GAA Centre, St Nathy’s College were crowned B Champions and Coláiste Chiaráin Athlone took home the C Championship. The C game went to 2 periods of extra time as both sides dug deep and refused to accept defeat. Athlone eventually took control in the final period of the second spell of extra time to get over the line, with Paul McManus and Callum O’Brien in particular on top form for them. Stalwart centre back Cian Monaghan shone brightest for St Paul’s who could easily have been going home with the cup.

In the B Final there was also extra time, but this time Jason Doory’s flicked goal deep in the second half of extra time was enough to secure St Nathy’s the victory. James O’Hara and captain Kuba O’Callaghan caught the eye for Nathy’s with Thomas O’Rourke also kicking some great scores for Strokestown.

St Paul’s: O. Finn, S. Joyce, R. Melia, M.Joyce, C. Tierney, C. Monaghan (0-2), O. O’Donnell, D. Kenny (1-1, 1-0 pen) P. Kelly (0-1f), G. Synott, A. Kelly (0-1), C. Walsh, J. O’Flaherty (1-0), M. Tierney (0-2), R. Monaghan, (0-2, 0-1f) Subs S. Lawrence (0-1), A. Feeney L. O’Connor

Coláiste Chiaráin Athlone: A. Francis, J. Duignan, E. Harney, A. Harney, R. Moran, D. Duff (0-1), R. Hardiman, D. Murray (1-0), D. Sumner, J. Finlass, P. McManus (0-5), S. Ryan, L. Kelly (0-3), C. O’Brien (0-7, 0-2fs), C. Fallon-McGowan Subs: R. Ryan, C. Macken, N. Macken

St. Nathy’s: A. Davey, M. Dillon, J. Lunt, D. Casey, S. O’Hara, B. Molloy, B. O’Hanlon, D. MacBrien, L. Conor, O. Hester (0-1), J. Doory (1-0), K. O’Callaghan (1-4), O. Philips, K. Philips, J. O’Hara (0-7fs) Subs: D. McHugh

Scoil Mhuire Strokestown: C. Feehily, A. glesson, C. Moylan, D. McGuire, D. Carbin (0-1), L. Cribbin, F. Moylan (0-1), G. Galvin, T. Lavin (0-2), T. O’Rourke (0-8, 0-7fs), N. Moran, C. Lavin, F. Cusack (1-0), M. Kavanagh (0-1f), A. Convey