Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Roscommon Team named ahead of Replay clash with Galway

July 14th, 2016

Roscommon Team named ahead of Replay clash with Galway

Press Release

Roscommon Team For Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship Final Replay named.

July 14 2016

Roscommon Joint Managers Kevin Mc Stay and Fergal O Donnell tonight named their team to play Galway in the Connacht Final replay in McHale Park Castlebar on Sunday next at 3-30pm. The Ciaráin Murtagh lead team shows a number of positional changes and one change  in  the team that started against Galway in the Connacht Final last week.  Senan Kilbride returns in place of Enda Smith who was Roscommon’s goal scorer last week.

Kevin Higgins makes his return to the match day 26 and this is his first appearance on a panel under McStay and O Donnell. He underwent surgery on a shoulder injury at Christmas.

This game will see Sean Mc Dermott make his 154th appearance for Roscommon   Seanie has played championship football for Roscommon since 2005 making his debut against Leitrim in the National Football League and London in the Championship.

The team in full is

1 Darren O’Malley   (Michael Glaveys)

2  David Murray          (Padraig Pearses)

3 Sean Mullooly         (Strokestown)

4 Niall McInerney       (St Brigids)

5  Sean McDermott     (Western Gaels)

6 John McManus         (Roscommon Gaels)

7  Sean Purcell                        (Boyle)

8 Niall Daly     (Padraig Pearses)

9 Cathal Compton  (Strokestown)

10 Fintan Cregg      (Elphin)

11 Conor Devaney        (Kilbride)

12 David Keenan          (St Barrys)

13 Cathal Cregg          (Western Gaels)

14 Senan Kilbride        (St Brigids)

15 Ciaran Murtagh (C)   (St Faithleachs)


16 Geoffrey Claffey       (Castlerea St Kevins)

17 Cian Connolly          (Roscommon Gaels)

18 Donie Shine             (Clann na nGael)

19 Donie Smith                          (Boyle)

20 Enda Smith            (Boyle)

21 Fergal Lennon     ( Clann na nGael)

22 Kevin Higgins   (Western Gaels)

23 Niall Carty             (Padraig Pearses)

24 Niall Kilroy              (Fuerty)

25 Thomas Corcoran    (Strokestown)

26 Ultan Harney          (Clann na nGael)

(courtesy of Roscommon GAA)