Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

Roscommon V Sligo U21 Match Report

March 19th, 2015

Roscommon V Sligo U21 Match Report

Roscommon 6-18 Sligo 0-12

Roscommon easily disposed of a disappointing Sligo team in the first of the Connacht GAA EirGrid U21 Football Championship semi-finals. Three goals from Enda Smith, a penalty goal from Paul Kenny and one from Diarmuid Murtagh had Roscommon 5-9 to 0-4 ahead at half time. Diarmuid Murtagh had his second and Roscommon’s sixth early in the second half with the Yeat’s County men finishing on the wrong side of a twenty four point defeat. Roscommon, who were narrowly defeated in last years All Ireland U21 Football Final, will now face the winners of Mayo or Galway in the Provincial final on Saturday 4th April. The Mayo/Galway semi-final throws in this Saturday 21st March at 5pm in MacHale Park, Castlebar.

After the game Mick Rock, Uachtarán, Comhairle Connacht presented the Connacht GAA Man of the Match Award to the Roscommon full forward and Boyle Club man, Enda Smith. See image above.

Scorers for Roscommon: Enda Smith 3-1, Diarmuid Murtagh 2-5 (0-2f), Paul Kenny 1-2 (1-0pen, 0-2f), Ronan Daly 0-3, Ultan Harney & Shane Killoran 0-2 each, Jack Earley, Cathal Kenny & Diarmuid McGann (0-1f) 0-1 each

Scorers for Sligo: Michael Casey 0-5 (0-4f), Cathal Henry & Ciarán O’Connor (0-1f) 0-2 each, Kevin Henry, Conor Kerins & Cian Breheny 0-1 each.

Roscommon: S Mannion; N McInerney, S Mullooly, D Barron; C Hussey, C Kenny, R Daly; C Compton, T O’Rourke; S Killoran, U Harney, J Earley; D Murtagh, E Smith, P Kenny. Subs – N Gately for Smith (37), K Kilcline for Killoran (42), M Murtagh for Earley (44), D McGann for Murtagh (44), E McGrath for Daly (54), P Neilan for Barron (58).

Sligo: E McDonagh; D Long, K McDonnell, B Walsh; C Kerins, J F Carr, C Surlis; B Smith, C Breheny; K Henry, C Henry, C Davey; S Curley, M Casey, S Cawley. Subs – Ciaran O’Connor (St Farnan’s) for Curley (33), O Kennedy for Long (40), K Gavigan for Smith (44), Ciaran O’Connor (Shamrock Gaels) for Cawley (52), G Brady for Henry (55, b/c).

Referee: R McBrien (Leitrim).