Official Connacht GAA Website

Official Website of Connacht GAA

The 1960s

March 6th, 2015

The 1960s

1960 signalled the end of a wonderful run of five Connacht titles in a row for Galway – a feat only achieved once before in the province, when Mayo were champions from 1906 to 1910. Four players – Sean Purcell, Mattie McDonagh, Joe Young and Jack Mahon – had the distinction of lining out with Galway in all five finals, and had played in all of the championship games over those five years, carving a special niche for themselves in Connacht GAA history.

1965 was also a historic year for Roscommon hurling when they won the All-Ireland Junior Hurling title for the first time

1966 was perhaps Connachts most successful year ever in Gaelic football with 4 All-Ireland titles coming to the west. ‘The west was truly awake